top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Terrazas

Earth day: Mercado magic

Updated: Apr 2, 2019

Earth day is right around the corner and did you know the fashion industry is the second largest polluter in the world? What better way to sustain the environment and make an impact than shopping vintage?


These last two weekends I stopped by a local makers market in Milwaukee; Mercado Magic. Located in Walkers Point on fifth street, the market features local vendors selling everything from vintage clothing, accessories and jewelry to handmade oils, illustrations, and more! Mercado Magic has different vendors every weekend! This past Saturday and Sunday the theme was Vintage Fuego! With tons of vintage vendors and a fashion show! Yesterday, Lindsey -my bestie in real life and blogger life haha- and I were invited to their Vintage Fuego event. The events main focus was vintage fashion! We stopped by all of the booths and met the amazing owners of all of the wonderful brands!



Last weekend I bought a blazer and a beautiful shirt from La Paloma Vintage.

La Paloma vintage is ran by Mariyam an MKE native who just moved back from NYC! Mariyam also runs Mercado Magic along with her husband. Mariyam wanted to bring the spice of NYC fashion and market to her hometown, and I have to say she is doing such an amazing job!



Me really feeling myself in this blazer. Just ignore my messy room ;)

The runway show featured looks from Penelope Irene, HM Chic Vintage, Fossil Hunt Vintage, La Paloma Vintage & more!



There is nothing I love more than supporting local businesses and helping the environment! After the fashion show Mariyam reminded us about how special and important it is to support vintage and handmade sellers because everything is handpicked with care and of much higher quality than your average store. When you're shopping not only are you supporting so many local vendors who are passionate about what they choose you are supporting and helping the environment.


Some of the local vendors at mercado magic include;


& tons more!










I am so glad I stopped in Mercado Magic because Mariyam is the sweetest person and being around so many strong successful business women really inspired me to follow my passion.



This Earth Day I encourage you to take a break from big brand stores and support a local business while shopping vintage!

If you are in the Milwaukee area I definitely encourage you to stop by after grabbing some breakfast in Walkers Point. For more information visit Mercado Magics Instagram page. I expect nothing but great things from this locally owned indoor market.

Scroll down for hours and dates!




Mercado Magic will be held on 5th street in Walkers Point Saturdays and Sundays until the middle of April (with more dates coming soon!) from 10-4!


Subscribe to stay updated!

Follow me on instagram.

Check out Lindseys Instagram and blog.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page