top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Terrazas

Cape Cod & Martha's Vineyard

Updated: Apr 27, 2019

A week in Cape Cod, things to do and where to eat.


When my dad first suggested going to Cape Cod I was a little hesitant. What’s over there? I’ve never heard of it!! Let’s go somewhere else? Couldn’t find too much on Pinterest but we got the tickets and headed to Boston, Massachusetts in July. Keep reading to find out what to eat and the cheapest way to get to Marthas Vineyard!



Lobster Pot in Provincetown


Boston

After a short flight we arrived in Boston. We decided to explore the city for a bit before checking in to our hotel. As we were walking around I saw the cutest little sign in a store. It happened to be the Primark. The sign said in big blue letters "Hello Boston"! How cute is it? (picture of me post flight below lol) We walked up and down the streets of Boston, it was quite busy -lots of shopping, lots of pawnshops, & lots of history. We stopped at this place called Luke’s lobster at the time we didn’t know it was a chain & a lobster roll cost a whopping $15 and let me tell you it was tiny. I wouldn’t go back. The only other time we’ve been to the East Coast was for New York City a few years ago. Boston felt like a little New York City.


After a few hours we headed to Hyannis, Massachusetts. Man did I think the weather in Wisconsin was funny I don’t know how you East Coast people do it! Rain to sunshine to cloudy all within a few hours. We arrived at our hotel (Heritage house hotel) and got ready for dinner. We googled some restaurants and found Spanky‘s Clam Shack. There was a beautiful outside patio and a breezy indoor. It was packed but we got a spot inside. I ordered A yummy shrimp sandwich and my dad ordered a lobster roll (my dad and I are the foodies of the family) mom and sister chose salad’s & chicken strips. I have to say the food completely blew me away especially the lobster roll. It was incredibly moist & jam packed for the price. The waitress was amazing and shrimp sandwich was the bomb!!!!! Not to mention this place is right on the harbor.




Provincetown

The next day we headed up the coast to the very tip of Cape Cod called Provincetown and I have to say this was probably one of my favorite parts of the trip. A very diverse, very colorful and a very busy town. Lots to do, lots to see, and lots to eat on the busy little main strip. I feel like Provincetown is very unique and not comparable to anywhere else (maybe key west). We stopped at this little cupcake place called Scottcakes, walking in, there was not a variety of cupcakes at all. In fact there was just one cupcake it looked like vanilla with pink frosting. We ended up grabbing some & oh my gosh I think these were the best cupcakes I’ve ever had in my life!!!! Highly recommend if you’re in town. Theres so many cute shops like The Shell Shop pictured below and more where you can buy clothes, shells, souvenirs and more. On the way back to Hyannis we stopped at this restaurant in Wellfleet called Moby Dick’s. That’s where we got the clambake (about $55) & it was DELISH!!! This place was a BYOB and order before you sit. Very nice workers and pricey menu.




Martha’s Vineyard & Nantucket


At the harbor in Hyannis there is lots of tourist stuff to do, we decided to take a ferry to Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket. This cost a few hundred dollars and was very expensive. However Martha’s Vineyard blew my expectations. Nantucket on the other hand not my favorite place. The ferry left at 8 AM and we got to Nantucket around 9 AM we were there until 2 PM and I have to say Nantucket is a very expensive and a very small, crowded town we spent most of our time on the beach, until it was time to head to Martha’s Vineyard.

Once we got to Martha’s we rented a jeep from Oak Bluffs for the day (theres plenty of day jeep rentals for a great price on the island). Martha’s Vineyard has lots of parts to it -including Vineyard Haven, Edgartown, & Aquinnah- and there’s maps everywhere to help you around the island in less than a day. The food, the beaches, the light houses, just follow the road and it can take you through out the whole island. The cute little homes, the little shops, you have to see it for yourself. Martha’s also seems to have an awesome nightlife, unfortunately our ferry left at 8pm. But I highly recommend spending a whole weekend there and skipping Nantucket. Keep reading if you want to find the cheapest way to get to Marthas.





The Juice Bar in Nantucket

Hyannis

Finally the place we stayed at, Hyannis, had so much to do there. When you first drive into Hyannis (and most of Cape Cod) it’s seems like a little ghost town but as you drive further into the city there’s a main strip with lots of shops, restaurants, hotels and tourist stuff to do like get spray tattoos, rides, things for sale and stuff for kids. Hyannis was a great place to stay on Cape Cod. However we stayed at the heritage house hotel (we booked through Hotwire) and I have to say this wasn’t my favorite hotel, it was a little humid in our rooms.


Let’s talk about the ferry to marthas

Like I said we spent hundreds of dollars on a ferry from Hyannis to Nantucket to Martha’s Vineyard and back. However once we were there we found out about another ferry that takes you to this place called Woods Hole on Cape Cod which is about an hour away from Hyannis. Want to know how much this one costs? $8.50.... EIGHT DOLLARS AND FIFTY CENTS ONE WAY PER PERSON!!!!!!!!!!!! you could potentially save hundreds of dollars just by driving an hour away!!!! And they more time options!! That would make staying the weekend at Martha’s a lot cheaper. Click HERE to save $100's!


Boston cont...


We spent our last day in Boston again, and got to see more of the city that we missed. We walked through the Boston Public Garden which is huge!! Saw so many people painting, relaxing, eating and handing out tourist packets. We even visited the Cheers bar!! We stayed the Hilton Hotel in Cambridge for our last night. For brunch we stopped at this amazing place called Café Luna The wait was long but well worth it. We also visited the Quincy market which has restaurants and stores to shop along with entertainment.






Overall I think Cape Cod was an amazing trip. Martha’s Vineyard is now one of my favorite places to go too. I would highly recommend going here and taking the cheaper ferry! if you have the opportunity to spend the weekend in Martha’s Vineyard do it!. Hyannis was a great place, however I’d stay at a different hotel. Thank you so much for taking time to read my post I hope this helped you plan your Cape Cod trip!






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page